Emails Emails Emails

Coffee…my best friend.  It’s like Night of the Living Dead in my head until I’ve had at least two cups.  Seriously, I’m brainless.  I walk into walls.  Fortunately, I just poured my third cup, so I’m good.

So, the magazine…a lot is happening, and I’m extremely excited.  With it comes a lot of new responsibilities.  Mostly, it entails sending and receiving emails.  It seems it is all I do.  I have been given a bunch of new responsibilities, no real direction except my experience, and an outdated list of staff writers to complete it.  Therefore, I have been uber-busy trying to piece together a staff and make sure we have good content going into the Winter Issue.  I think I have succeeded.

The staff that remains at Carpe Nocturne are the ones I would have hand picked to stay anyways.  So that is good.  I would rather have a smaller group of quality writers, than a multitude of mediocre ones.  Also, there is a new addition, Asylum Attendant, and one former writer who I was able to bring back, Krystalle Voecks.  I am not the type of person to just take anyone, and I feel confidant about my choices.

One of the difficult things about my current position is this…at Carpe Nocturne, we cover a broad range of cultures.  Industrial, Goth, Punk, Steampunk, I can go on.  I need to make sure each is represented in every issue.  I mean, I don’t technically have to, but I will.  It’s a little bit of a juggling act at times.

Ok, now I have to go make a cake.  Yes, I can bake too.  It’s going to be a peanut butter pound cake with chocolate chips and a peanut butter glaze.  Afterwards, I’ll probably send and reply to some emails.  I also have to touch up the interview I just conducted with Chibi of The Birthday Massacre, do a CD review of Stoneburner, and write an article on a benefit concert being performed for a woman who was attacked and nearly killed in her home.  This is to say I will do this unless I end up sending and replying to emails instead, Lol.

Here is a band I discovered last night, and am totally digging…LIGHTS

Leave a comment