Flyleaf

So I just spent the last twenty minutes sitting here debating what picture to use as my header.  Should I use Flyleaf 2010 or 2014?  If you are a fan, you know why.  I decided on 2014 because it is the current lineup, but I have loved the band for so long, it just takes some time getting use to.  If you have no clue what I’m talking about, you will by the end of this post.

It is difficult for me to remember when exactly I discovered Flyleaf.  I believe it was right around the release of “Momento Mori,” in 2009.  Somewhere between the songs “All Around Me,” “Fully Alive,” and “Again” I fell in love with this band.  They were rock, but with some subtle dark undertones.  I later realized they were a Christian rock band, but I’ll get back to that in a minute.  I loved Flyleaf’s sound, especially the vocals, and for me it was a discovery of great song after great song.  I downloaded both CD’s without thinking twice.

Their self-titled debut album “Flyleaf,” is incredible from beginning to end.  I love this CD.  It’s edgy, but catchy.  “Momento Mori,” I feel, wasn’t quite as good, but it definitely had some amazing tracks on it.  It was worth the money for sure.  At the time after it’s release, I was certain Flyleaf was destined to become one of my favorite bands of all time.  The Christian lyrics…to be honest, words are the last thing I notice in a song.  I played bass for a long time (don’t anymore), so it’s natural for me to focus on the percussion and bass first.  Next I notice the vocals, but not necessarily the words being sung.  Weird?  Afterwards, I focus on everything else.  As for the lyrics, I’m Catholic, send my kids to Catholic School, but not sure if I want to hear religion in my music.  With Flyleaf, it’s never in your face, usually stated subtly, but there is almost always a positive theme to their songs.  I’m ok with that.

2010 was my favorite year for Flyleaf music.  The band released the EP “Remember to Live,” and it is my favorite piece of work they have put together to date.  The songs “Justice and Mercy (Violent Love Version)”, “Okay”, and “Believe in Dreams” are among my most played Flyleaf songs.  They inspire me.  Also that year, they released a live version of the song “How He Loves,” which they use to close their shows.  What a great song, and I don’t even care if the lyrics are very religious.

Not everything a band does can always be incredible.  In 2012 I was so damn excited for Flyleaf’s new CD “New Horizons” to be released.  I downloaded the entire album the moment it was available to the public.  I listened to it, and…I figured it would grow on me.  It didn’t.  I know music is completely subjective, and I’m sure there are plenty of people who like it, but it wasn’t Flyleaf to me.  In my mind, the CD sounded more like what I would hear on the radio, and I don’t like much that is played on the radio.  To make matters worse, late in 2012, long time front woman Lacey Sturm abruptly announced she was leaving the band.  I was crushed, and ready to write Flyleaf off as one of those good bands of the past.  Lacey’s voice was so unique, and always my favorite part of what made Flyleaf great.

Before I continue, I just want to say….Lacey, we still love you.  You have an amazing talent, and I only hope I can hear you perform again one day.  Until then, I will just have to share one of my favorite videos of all time.  The song is amazing, but the simplicity and visuals of this video makes me want to watch it over and over again, and I have.  “All Around Me” by Flyleaf is easily a top 5 video for me.

I’ll be honest. after Lacey Sturm left. I didn’t pay much attention to Flyleaf.  I heard they had found a replacement, but after the last CD, I didn’t have high expectations.  You can lose a member of a band, but it is extremely difficult to replace your singer and continue to be successful.  In walks Kristen May.  It just may have been the change the band needed.  I like their new album, “Between the Stars”.  They have definitely stepped back towards rock again, and kinda sound a bit more like Paramore before Paramore turned more Pop.  I can honestly say I am still a fan of Flyleaf, and I look forward to seeing what else this lineup can do.  Here is their first released song off of their new album, “Set Me on Fire”.

Leave a comment