The Birthday Massacre

Image

The Birthday Massacre…one of those truly great bands.  Their songs are so diverse.  To hit shuffle on their playlist is like spinning a wheel and waiting to see what the needle points to.  You can end up with something Goth-Metal, pure rock, or Synth-Pop, just to name a few.  Usually the song is somewhere in between, combining elements from many different genres.  There is definitely a retro feel to the synths…almost Nu-Wave or Post-Punk, but then they often have futuristic elements to them as well.  The vocals?  I consider Chibi to have the best pure voice among the music I listen to.  She is extremely melodic, feminine, has a great range, and can unleash a frightening growl of a verse that makes you hide under the bed sheets.  That is talent.

My love fest with TBM began on a Friday night.  I was on YouTube.  I clicked on the song “Nevermind.”  Over the course of the weekend I must have watched that video over a hundred times.  I’m not exaggerating.  I can still hear my daughter’s voice screaming down the steps, “Dad, are you listening to that song again?”  There was just something infectious about it.  The song was more old school Goth-Pop, but with a modern rock twist.  The genre doesn’t really matter here.  Chibi’s voice, her expressions, the music, the black outfits set against the white background, the subtle use of red and purple throughout the video…all combined to make this amazing experience for me.  Within two weeks, I owned everything The Birthday Massacre has ever done.

Colors…this is an important concept when listening to TBM.  The band members are strong believers in mixing visuals with the audio.  Are they good at it?  Just reread the last paragraph.  Violet is their color of choice.  You will find it in the forefront of any band merchandise, CD cover, etc.  Hell, they even have a song called Violet.  Then again, they have songs called Red, Blue, Pale, and Black as well.  It is the imagery of their lyrics that captivate me more than anything.

The Birthday Massacre is mood music for me.  I can always relate an emotion or an experience to one of their songs.  I connect with so many of their lyrics.  They make me think.  They make me feel.  The songs are often haunting, bordering on horror, but the sensitivity and passion of Chibi’s voice shines through.  It is a balancing act of magnificence.  Then there are the times she doesn’t want to comfort you.  Yep, bed covers.  I can describe TBM all I want, but you really need to listen to them to understand what I’m talking about.  I’m sure I’ll post a couple videos, and then you can see why The Birthday Massacre is considered a powerhouse within the Goth genre.

Leave a comment